Move-In Day

by Oak Hill Studio

Here’s Luke in his dorm room not too long after we rolled onto campus last Friday.  I couldn’t have asked for a smoother move in.  I half expected cars to be jammed in to various tight parking spots near the dorms, and thought surely we’d have to fight our way in past other students and their families trying to move in their stuff.  Thankfully, it was not the case at all.  It really was easy as pie, though a bit warm.  Luke is a boy of order and I quickly realized  that I needed to step aside and let him do his thing.  Within minutes he had all of his stuff where he wanted it and I was able to take this picture of him.  Normally, photos of him portray a very confident, relaxed (if not a bit impatient) look.  But this one is different, and I treasure it because I see such a mix of emotions on his face and demeanor.  Very understandable.

After sharing a box lunch of fried chicken in a shady spot on the campus lawn, we made a quick run to Bed, Bath & Beyond to pick up a hot pot to heat water for Luke’s favorite study drink, tea.  Then all too soon it was time for us to go since Luke had to attend a mandatory meeting.  Of course, our parting, though short, was filled with emotion.  Thankfully, Luke, very excited to start this adventure, had a smile on his face.  It sure made things a whole lot easier for me to leave him behind!  Also helpful was the fact that we were able to meet a few of his suite mates, including his roommate, and I was impressed.   They all seemed very nice and friendly, and the RA was especially helpful, cheery, and down to earth.  Whew!  Of course time will tell, but I left feeling hopeful that this was a place that Luke could really come to like.

Unfortunately, things really went downhill after we left.  We hit traffic just outside of New York city and it was bumper to bumper for the entire CT coastline.  Wow, we really didn’t see that one coming!  It took us an extra hour and a half to get home, and we managed to get totally stressed out by the end of our drive.  I really don’t know how people from the city manage the stress of driving.  It’s not something I want to experience again anytime soon!

It’s been a year of change, with most of the change culminating right here at the end of August.  Not only did Luke move on to college, but Michaela has entered high school, thus bringing an end to our homeschooling years.  Recently, a friend jokingly stated “So, Silvana, your teaching career has pretty much come to a grinding halt!  What are you going to do now?”  Thankfully, the emotions weren’t too near the surface at that particular moment, or I might have burst into tears.  Instead, I laughingly agreed.  Change is inevitable and I hope to make the best of it as I seek the Lord as to what comes next.  More on that later.

