5 months remaining

by Oak Hill Studio

 I will lift up my eyes to the hills—From whence comes my help?  My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth.  Ps 121:1

Such a skillful Maker He is.

This photo of our little almond tree flowers was taken on a quick walk around the yard last week during the unusually warm, May-like weather.  I couldn’t resist snapping a few pictures to capture the fluttering awake of nature that seemed to happen overnight this year.

Now we are back to cool temps.  But it won’t be long before warmer weather settles in to stay.

I have mixed feelings about the arrival of Spring this year.  For the first time (in….my life?) I am not anxious for winter’s end.  The countdown is on.  5 wee months remain of the short 17 and 1/2 years that will have passed when my son, Luke, leaves for college.  (pause to gasp for air)

Today is his 17th birthday.  I awoke early and laid in bed a little longer this morning, pondering what to write in his card.  I am not good with words.  How does a mom express the love that has been stored up for so many years to her little boy grown big and independent–to one aching to flex his wings and be off?  It certainly cannot fit inside the space of a few words jotted down and quickly read.

Perhaps this is the reason for the restless heart this morning, my inability to focus and stay on task.  This pressure of 5 months to tie up any loose ends and express as best I can in my clumsy way how much I love him.  To live each moment fully.  To accept the fact that life will never be quite the same for any of us as this phase passes into the next.

I’m not sure how I’ll do it, but with God’s help– with the help of One who made heaven and earth no less, I think I’ll be ok.

